Gallery

Driving day

I got an interesting “job” from a friend. Try to sell advertisement for an application. The application is for smart phone and iPhone and I like it. It is a useful tavern, restaurant guide for Crete. I never did this kind of staff, so I thought why not to try. Free time I have more than enough.

Of course my thought was to do some geocaching on the way to the taverns.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My feeling was positive in the morning when I started with caching and it was an FTF. Kirmousi church is a fantastic place especially in a “spring” morning. I parked the car not too far. The walk till the church was magic. The birds are singing and the flowers are opening. It was a happy moment. Near the church I had to cross a stream. I wasn’t in boots and I didn’t want to get dirty at all. So I crossed it in the bushes not to get muddy my new white trainers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To found the box wasn’t easy, but for an FTF you have to do efforts. (It isn’t on the wall; it is in the wall of the church.) Just imagine what I was climbing around!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With a successful start of the day I was ready to go to make some business. I hike over a hill to get closer, faster to the car. O my shortcuts!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On top I saw my car is much lower what I thought. My black pans didn’t stay clear. Next time,if there is a next time, I have to bring caching clothing and shoes too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My target was mainly Sivas, Matala, Kalamaki area. I was sure some tavern will be open and they will be interested in this good application. I got a BIG surprise. The whole Crete is closed up for winter. Not even a good coffee!!??

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I go out the country side in winter time a lot but I never realize how many places are open or closed. Mostly I am walking on the fields, dirt roads with an apple in my bag.

To cheer me up I went for Kamilari tomb cache. It is a great place in the olive groves. I found the box easy. At this kind of caches I love to do the maintainance too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After started too hunt more open places. NOTHING.

Matala dream cache is definitely not there, but I don’t mind. There aren’t many places what not attract me in Crete but one is Matala “village”. It is a nice bay, but in land are only ugly buildings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t swim. I didn’t want to spend the time from “work”. Then I drove up at a hill top of Komos. That was the perfect place for my apple and this is a great place for a box next time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From here I drove South of Psiloritis through a lot of small villages and different landscape.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This year the winter is warm, not much snow left on the mountains.

At the end I arrived at Arkadi Monastery.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is time to record the E4 signs at a list. Last time I saw a lot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Cretan Trail Caches are getting more and more. If somebody like to place a cache on the trail is welcome. Just get contact with me-about the bonus letter-before publishing. With pleasure I can do the maintenance too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One response to “Driving day

  1. Oh! I love Crete and I love looking at your photos! Thanks for posting them!

Leave a Reply

